Forgot Password

In this section:

Become a member

What's New?


August 5, 2019
By: Lorne Swan
Congratulations to competition winners, honorary award recipients and examination candidates who...
We have a WINNER!
July 6, 2019
By: Lorne Swan
Congratulations to Canadian organist and composer and RCCO member Rachel Laurin.  Her...


Available annually, the Lorna & Murray Holmes Scholarship was established their memory.  Lorna was organist and choir director at Eastminster United Church in Toronto for 25 years and then served as supply organist in variou churches. She was active on the RCCO Toronto Centre executive, serving as chair of the Centre, and as secretary of the national examinations committee. She was a Life Member of the Toronto Centre and died in 2001 at the age of 88.  Her husband Murray was bass soloist at Eastminster United Church (then Danforth United) and later at Deer Park United Church. He taught music at Cosburn Junior High School, and was a joint member of the RCCO with his wife. He died in 2008 at the age of 94.  Lorna and Murray Holmes were the parents of Karen Holmes, who was National President of the RCCO from 1996 to 1998. 

The scholarship provides $1,000 to a student entering a programme of organ or church music studies at a Canadian University.  Preference will be given to students beginning undergraduate studies. Applicants must hold membership in the College.

There is no formal application form, but a letter of application must be accompanied by proof of acceptance at a Canadian University, two letters of reference from people able to assess the candidate's suitability for the scholarship and a list of the applicant's academic and musical achievements and awards.

Deadline for applications: May 15th each year.

Complete applications should be sent to:

The Lorna & Murray Holmes Scholarship, c/o The Royal Canadian College of Organists, 204 St George Street, Suite 202, Toronto, ON M5R 2N5.

Previous Recipients:

2003 - Ashley Wales
2004 - Conor Graham
2005 - Andrew Adair
2006 - Matthew Coons
2008 - Gwyneth Bergman
2009 - Francine Nguyen-Savaria
2010 - Julie Pinsonneault
2011 - Joshua Zentner-Barrett
2012 - Olaf Lokken
2013 - RebeccaMcKay
2015 - Nicholas Walters

Web Development and Web Consulting by c-Seven Media | CMS POWERED BY MANTIS CONTENT MANAGEMENT SYSTEM